Design, Devotion, thoughts

2017 Goals

calender-2017

I didn’t think I would write an entry on new resolutions. I think that the word “resolution” brings a connotation of failure and it should be discarded. Goals seem more approachable. Anyway, for better or worse… my 9 goals for 2017.

  1. Blog consistently. Not setting specifics here. Not a once a week or once a month standard. Simply blog more, sharpen my writing, account the days, and be consistent.
  2. Daily Plan. This is a habit that I am fairly good at. I have used field notes for the past four years to record my days and plan my weekly schedules. This year I jumped on the bandwagon and bought a Hobonichi Techo for 2017. I liked Mike Rohde’s entry on Medium where he showed his process of the daily plan bar. It seems perfect for the Techo. Looking forward to implementing it. Lifehacker also had a great entry showing how Jerry Seinfeld keeps productive: Don’t break the chain.
  3. Read 35 books. I set a goal of 24 books in 2016. Using Goodreads for recording I surpassed my goal to a total of 31. Totally attainable. Included in goal no.3 is goal no.4.
  4. Read Beowulf. Either Heaney or Tolkien, even though I heard Tolkien never wanted his translation to be published.
  5. Less Facebook. Again no specifics. I know how much I use it as a filler in the boring moments. Rather learning that innovation and new ideas often come when the mind is wandering, how much have I used facebook to fill those wandering moments and thus lose those innovative ideas?
  6. Pray more. I love to pray and I love the idea of setting time aside in three different periods of the day for prayer.
  7. Read Daily Office Lectionary. Excited having begun the ESV Daily Office Lectionary through the year with dear brothers.
  8. Exercise more. 2016 was a good start.
  9. Financial Peace. Hannah and I loved taking Dave Ramsey’s FPU this past October. The tactics we learned have all ready blessed our 2016. We want to continue into 2017 hopefully paying off both cars.

Godspeed into 2017.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

